Judicial Council

The Provincial Court Act of B.C. establishes Judicial Council, a body of nine people, with responsibility for improving the quality of services provided by the judicial officers of the Provincial Court. Its main functions are to advise the government on the appointment of Provincial Court judges and judicial justices and, when necessary, to undertake inquiries into their conduct.

Its duties under the Provincial Court Act include:

Under section 21(2) of the Provincial Court Act Judicial Council consists of nine members:

  • the Chief Judge as chair (currently Chief Judge T. Crabtree)
  • an Associate Chief Judge as alternate presiding member (currently Associate Chief Judge G. Gill)
  • four members appointed by the Attorney General of B.C. (currently, Judicial Justice P. Schwartz; K. Kirkpatrick; L. MacLean, Q.C. and R. Rolls)
  • the president of the Provincial Court Judges Association (currently Judge S. Wishart)
  • the president (or a designate) of the BC Branch of the Canadian Bar Association (currently A. Shorten)
  • a lawyer appointed by the Law Society of B.C. (currently J. Lindsay, Q.C.)

The Judicial Council's process is governed by a Procedure Bylaw adopted March 23, 2001.

Judicial Council encourages applications from candidates of diverse backgrounds for appointment as judicial officers. Its efforts to ensure that its application process is as transparent as possible were recognized as "a model of transparency" in a resolution passed by the Canadian Bar Association in August 2013.

Read the Chief Judge’s August 3, 2012 letter to the President of the Canadian Bar Association, BC Branch, and the President of the Law Society of British Columbia, re: Diversity in the Provincial Court of British Columbia.

The Judicial Council issues an Annual Report outlining its activities for the period covered.

(PDF - download acrobat reader)